Potential

The greatest part about it being a new year is the potential. Resolutions are made to change habits or introduce new ones. Expectations are set or raised. And we make plans to implement these things because it’s a new year and it has potential.

For me, I have been hesitant to write anything down because I always end up disappointed in myself. I’m not alone either, as I was reminded by the The Super Sisters in their weekly email that studies show 95% of people have already broken their resolutions by January 15th. But I want it to be different this year.

Personally, I am doing a body reset. It’s time. I’ve had the same horrible eating and inactivity habits for 31 years. So that is changing. After reading It Starts with Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, things made sense to me. This has led me to my first round of Whole30. I’m a week in and it’s been a challenge withdrawing from sugar and carbs. I can tell that I’m already feeling better though…so I will make it the remaining 22 days and possibly beyond. I also started the Super Sisters Fitness Challenge for the month and have maxed out in most of the workouts (even with modifications). So when I look at my start in January, I see positive changes coming.

Professionally, I want to continue growing and expanding my network. My position at NDE has afforded me with wonderful opportunities thus far and I have developed great relationships with many Nebraska educators. It’s even fair to say that word about me providing (free) professional learning opportunities is reaching administrators who are curious how I can help their teachers and students. 🙂

I will continue with my role on the NETA Board of Directors with my friend Josh Allen as President-Elect. We are moving to the CenturyLink Center and have high expectations of our largest Spring NETA Conference. Ever. This is very overwhelming and exciting to be a part of…which is why I’m happy to have Josh leading.

EdcampOmaha will have its 5th anniversary on March 21! My co-organizer, Josh Allen, and I planned for some new events to take place this year and are looking forward to a great day of learning in a new space. My role with the Edcamp Foundation Partners Program has been very rewarding this past year due to helping several people get edcamps started. The Edcamp Foundation is on the verge of more greatness with our new Executive Director, Hadley Ferguson, leading the charge. Happy to be a part of this organization and spreading the edcamp love!

Beyond education, my involvement with the Omaha Young Professionals in planning for the YP Summit has pushed me beyond my education world. The planning committee is comprised of many that are in corporate and non-profit. At first this was intimidating because I was unsure of commonalities. Now I look at it as one of the best opportunities for me to work with those that aren’t in education and continue to give me a more global perspective. They each teach me different qualities that I aspire to develop in myself.

There you have it. When I write it all out…I’m involved with some fantastic projects that I’m extremely proud of. These same projects are the ones that I learn from, grow from, and ultimately help me see my own potential.

Leave a Reply

