I Believe in Santa

A simple letter to Santa, as part of the Macy’s Believe campaign that benefits the Make-A-Wish Foundation read:

Dear Santa,
I live in Omaha, Nebraska. I have been a good boy this year. I would like a bed and clothes for Christmas.

Your friend,
*J    (Name changed for confidentiality purposes)

One of my sweet students didn’t want the most recent device or toy…he just wanted a bed to sleep on and clothes to wear.  A few emails and phone calls later, I was told that there simply weren’t any beds available in the Omaha metro area.  The waiting list included 48 people that also wanted a bed.  J wouldn’t get a bed.

Enter my best friend Stacy and a simple Facebook post about this request that spread quickly.  Friends, friends of friends, family, and the like, responded.  Overwhelmingly.  Within 24 hours, there was a mattress sitting in my classroom with new bedding and pillows, along with a note to J from Santa.  It didn’t stop there.  There were more donations that included several mattresses, 2 bunk beds, and new bedding.

Another phone call was made and the parents came to pick up their new beds.  As the mother entered my classroom, she didn’t know what to expect.  My sixth grade group with whom I was working was immediately compelled to carry and load the car.  She stood in awe.  She asked in disbelief, “How?”  “Santa’s elves loved J’s letter to Santa and wanted to help make it the best Christmas in all of his 8 years on this world. We were simply lucky that they made it in time for Christmas.” The mom hugged and thanked me several times.

The next day a letter appeared on my desk addressed to Santa. Santa and his elves absolutely made this boy’s Christmas dreams come true. I still struggle to find the words to express this story in its fullest sense…so I’ll share the letter in order for you to understand, even just a little bit…

Santa Thank You

Merry Christmas to all!

2 thoughts on “I Believe in Santa

Leave a Reply

