What’s Your Mission?

Once again, the latest assignment for my last class towards my Master’s has challenged me.  The challenge: write a personal mission statement that encompasses all that you hold important and true in order to help you as you carry out your calling in life.  In order to start this process, I read some amazing mission statements, including Karl Martino’s.  Then I even tried building one with a mission statement generator.  None of this helped.  So I went back to what I already know, Habitudes.  I also used the brilliant Albert Einstein to guide me with his words.  My mission statement is now complete and will provide inspirational words that challenge me to consistently show the Habitudes in all that I do.

To live my life according to the wise words of Albert Einstein and the principals in which I believe:

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” Be creative.

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.” Be curious.

“The world is not dangerous because of those who do harm but because of those who look at it without doing anything.”  Be self-aware.

“Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them.” Be perseverant.

“You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”  Be courageous.

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough” Be adaptable.

“Only a life lived for others is a life worth while.” Be compassionate.

“We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” Be a change agent.

“Intellectual growth should commence at birth and cease only at death” Be a learner for life.

What do believe your mission to be in life?  Do you have it in writing?  Take the time to put it down on paper or computer and see what you hold important as you lead your life.

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Mission?

Leave a Reply

