Sometimes Passion Makes You an Island

This is my post on passion for Angela Maiers’ #passiondriven series on her blog at angelamaiers.com These were my thoughts on passion after finishing up at #edcampkc and preparing to share about how my digital community has changed my life at #collab21. Since it’s Thanksgiving, I have to say that I’m incredibly thankful for my PLN for so many things, but mostly for being there for me!!

Passion. Had you asked me a year ago, I think I would have had a completely different answer about what I thought passion might be or what I thought my passion was. Why? Quite simply, I have discovered a renewed sense of purpose all because of a new community. A community that has engaged my attention, supported me, taught me, and fueled the fire that was quickly dwindling inside. Where did I find this community some ask? Twitter, of course. I know there are nay-sayers. I was one of them because I saw no purpose in it. Little did I know that it had the potential to connect me with fellow educators around the world that are passionate about education, passionate about learning, and passionate about engaging students in a whole new context.

For me, education is not a job. Not a career. It’s a lifestyle because it’s not something that stops at five o’clock. I can’t compartmentalize teaching and keep it separate from the rest of my life because it is with me wherever I go – in introductions, in conversations, in thoughts, and sometimes in dreams. Even when I’m not teaching, I’m thinking about teaching or how I can improve what I’m doing so my students learn. It affects everything that I do. I want to be the best teacher that I can be, so I passionately seek out new ways to do that and passionately share what works for me.

Most of the time, these new methods on how to approach teaching set me apart from others. I’m ok with that. At least I’m learning to be ok with that because I’m doing what’s best for my students. I’m applying strategies that work for 21st century students. Sometimes this makes me an island. While I enjoy tropical weather and the ocean breeze, I’m not going to let island life stop me from fervently pursuing more passion-driven work in my community.

Leave a Reply

