Flying Solo

#edcampkc was another great place for me to connect with like-minded educators. That’s the point of education conferences, right? I like to think so. So that’s how I’m going to approach my first conference in which I present solo.

The 21st Century Schools: Collaboration Unconference is going to be different than other education conferences in which I’ve participated. Not because it’s an unconference, which is quickly becoming my favorite type of conference. But rather it a cohort setup with unconference sessions in the midst of the day to provide different learning breaks and opportunities. This helps the ADD in me for sure, but also allows me the chance to learn about several things at one conference and get more of what I want.

I am presenting on Language Learners in the 21st Century. If you know me at all, ELLs hold a special place in my heart because they are the students whom I love to serve. If you know me beyond that, you also know how much i love teaching students to be successful in the 21st Century with whatever habitudes and proficiencies that requires.

More than anything, I’m excited to have conversations about how we are moving education forward and how our English Language Learners are right there with us. I will be tweeting from the conference with the hashtag #collab21. @wesfryer and @anderscj will both be facilitating and presenting as well. Join the conversation!

Leave a Reply

