Teaching to the test…

I work in a district where certain formative assessments must be given at certain times of the year to ensure that I am teaching certain things and basically doing my job.  With that said, I have to say that I think it is hardly an authentic assessment.  We all teach to the test because it’s the only way that our kids will pass.  We all have to give it a certain way, with the same verbage, but then we have to also use the same cut scores.  I’m ok with that.  But when a student doesn’t get 100% on the test to receive an Advanced, we automatically have to give Form B.  I understand giving the students a chance to better their scores (I wish I had that opportunity when I was in college a couple of times).  But my problem is, is this realistic?  We give these tests, explain what was wrong, reteach, and let them try again.  Is that truly authentic assessing?  Or is that teaching to the test?

Leave a Reply

